Damage category changes


Classic and special interest vehicles are exempt.

Author: Philip Strickland
Reading time: 2 minutes

This article is 5 years old.

Read our disclaimer keyboard_arrow_down

This website content is intended as a general guide to law as it applies to the motor trade. Lawgistics has taken every effort to ensure that the contents are as accurate and up to date as at the date of first publication.

The laws and opinions expressed within this website may be varied as the law develops. As such we cannot accept liability for or the consequence of, any change of law, or official guidelines since publication or any misuse of the information provided.

The opinions in this website are based upon the experience of the authors and it must be recognised that only the courts and recognised tribunals can interpret the law with authority.

Examples given within the website are based on the experience of the authors and centre upon issues that commonly give rise to disputes. Each situation in practice will be different and may comprise several points commented upon.

If you have any doubt about the correct legal position you should seek further legal advice from Lawgistics or a suitably qualified solicitor. We cannot accept liability for your failure to take professional advice where it should reasonably be sought by a prudent person.

All characters are fictitious and should not be taken as referring to any person living or dead.

Use of this website shall be considered acceptance of the terms of the disclaimer presented above.

Insurance companies have for many years operated a system for categorising the level of damages to a motor vehicle. 

The system was simple, easy to understand by both the trade and the public and set out four categories of damage.

A car classified as Category ‘A’ damaged was a total and complete write off, destroyed beyond redemption.  A Category ‘B’ write off was a severely damaged car with no chance of being restored to the road, but with many useful parts, so it could be regarded as “breakable for parts”.  A Category ‘C’ was usually given to a car seriously damaged but repairable (not economic to repair based on value) and a Category ‘D’ write off was usually a lightly damaged low value vehicle not economically viable to repair.

However, from 1st October, the categories change.  The Association of British Insurers have issued revised categories and guidelines for classifying vehicle damage.  Category ‘A’ and ‘B’ stay the same.  Category ‘C’ now become ‘S’ (standing for “Structural” damage, while Category ‘D’ becomes Category ‘N’ (standing for repairable non-structural).

While the use of these revised codes is not mandatory, they are expected to give the public and trade a clearer picture of the type of damage suffered by a vehicle.  Classic and special interest vehicles are exempt.

As with all sales, it is important to describe the goods accurately and honestly.  This new system might help achieve that aim.

Philip Strickland

Legal Advisor

Read more by this author

Getting in touch

You can contact us via the form or you can call us on 01480 455500.