New Insurance write off categories

On 1 October 2017 the categorisation was refreshed to better reflect the complexity of repairs on modern vehicles. In light of this, the new classification methodology reviews the condition of the car rather than the cost of repair when deciding which category to apply.

Thus Cat A, Cat B, Cat C and Cat D classes have been replaced with the following:

Cat A: Scrap

Cat B: Break

Cat S: Structurally damaged repairable

Cat N: Non-structurally damaged repairable

Further reading here :

Authors: Jason Williams

Published: 08 Mar 2018


To ensure you are a real person signing up and to prevent automated signups (spamming) could we ask you to copy the letters and numbers shown below into the box.

(cAse SeNSItivE!)

There are no comments

Share this Article